Math Is Fun Forum
  Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#26 2016-03-10 05:25:35

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Quite yes. A suanpan can show a maximum number of 15 in a rod whereas a soroban can only show 9.

Offline

#27 2016-03-10 08:32:30

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

That is a nice feature but the basic operation still remains the same?


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#28 2016-03-10 15:32:04

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Almost, though suanpan is more complicated due to being able to represent 10 in one rod.

Offline

#29 2016-03-10 17:38:14

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

With all due respect to the ancients, I will stick with the computer for doing calculations.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#30 2016-03-10 18:47:28

David
Member
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2014-04-23
Posts: 3,135

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

bobbym wrote:

With all due respect to the ancients, I will stick with the computer for doing calculations.

I'll stick with the computer too... Specifically M.


Meaningless, meaningless, Everything is meaningless! - Ecclesiastes 1:2

Offline

#31 2016-03-10 19:26:21

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Hi;

I'll stick with the computer too... Specifically M.

I am glad you think that way. If you learn programming through M you will be much better off than I was learning all those procedural languages first and then trying to move to M. Unfortunately my laments are not helping Monox D. I-Fly get an answer to his question.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#32 2016-03-11 05:35:12

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Unfortunately I was asked to write a book about abacus, not programming language.

Offline

#33 2016-03-11 05:39:09

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

I will keep looking.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#34 2016-03-11 05:42:11

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Thank you.

Offline

#35 2016-03-11 15:17:00

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Take a look at this for the original question:

http://classroom.synonym.com/multiply-s … -7049.html


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#36 2016-03-12 00:50:55

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Thank you. Now I am looking about how to operate fractions on abacus for the last chapter.

Offline

#37 2016-03-12 05:18:04

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

You could leave out the decimals and compute them as whole numbers. For instance:

(1 / 5)(1 / 8) = (.2)(.125) = 2(125)/10000


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#38 2016-03-13 05:32:53

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

I heard that it can operate fractions without leaving the decimals first, though.

Offline

#39 2016-03-13 13:09:58

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

You can use the formula:


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#40 2016-03-13 15:13:37

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

How can we input it to the abacus?

Offline

#41 2016-03-13 17:09:08

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Hi;

You are right, I do not know what I was thinking.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#42 2016-03-14 00:38:57

Monox D. I-Fly
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 857

Re: [ASK] Can Abacus be Used to Multiply Two Single Digits?

Me, neither.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB