Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-01 09:45:29

MichaelWright

Tricky (im)probability question

Hi folks - I need some help with a tricky probability. Here's the situation:

Let's say there are 4M internet users in Age Group A. (The total set)
Of those 4M, there are 1,000 users who play a specific sport.
Those 1,000 are spread evenly over 125 teams, so 8 players each.

1. What's the probability of selecting 3 random users (from the 4M) who all play that sport?
2. What's the probability of all 3 users being members of the same team?

This isn't a school problem - I'm a 47 year old writer, and I need to figure out this absurdly improbable number. (The improbability is the point.) Any advice / guidance / direction here would be appreciated! (I have a moderate familiarity with combinations & permutations, and their notations, so do feel free to use whatever formulae / notations are needed. Ideally, a clear formula with values I can input would be great; a pointer to an online calculator that could crank out answers would be awesome for future uses, too.)

Any questions, please feel free to let me know. Thanks! ~ MW.

#2 2020-05-01 22:51:45

Bob
Administrator

Re: Tricky (im)probability question

hi Michael,

Welcome to the forum.

To choose one player from 4M is a probability of 1000/4000000.

To choose a second (one less to choose from, and one less in the grand set) is 999/3999999

And for a third, 998/3999998

Thus to end up with three chosen is (1000x999x998)/4000000 x 3999999 x 3999998)

But, lets say you do succeed with player A, then B then C.  You'll get the same combo if you choose B first, then A then C, so the same result has been calculated more than once.  So you need to also calculate how many ways you can re-arrange three players amongst themselves.  ABC, ACB, BAC, BCA, CAB, CBA or perm 3 which is 3!.