Math Is Fun Forum
  Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#26 2013-07-22 06:17:27

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

I will mention it to MIF.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#27 2013-07-22 06:25:09

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,479

Re: why do i have to login twice

Okay, thanks.
Taking a break, see you tomorrow..


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#28 2013-07-22 06:26:06

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

Hi;

Thanks for coming in, see you later.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#29 2013-07-22 13:30:09

ShivamS
Member
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 3,555

Re: why do i have to login twice

Unfortunately, I have encountered this with FF and IE.

Offline

#30 2013-07-22 14:32:39

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

MIF is looking into it.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#31 2013-07-23 00:15:20

MathsIsFun
Administrator
Registered: 2005-01-21
Posts: 7,535

Re: why do i have to login twice

Yes, I am looking into it, but it isn't so easy to figure it out ...


"The physicists defer only to mathematicians, and the mathematicians defer only to God ..."  - Leon M. Lederman

Offline

#32 2014-04-21 04:32:30

ShivamS
Member
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 3,555

Re: why do i have to login twice

This is the most annoying thing I have ever encountered...

Offline

#33 2014-04-21 04:57:25

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

Are you still experiencing it?


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#34 2014-04-21 05:09:33

phrontister
Real Member
From: The Land of Tomorrow
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 3,848

Re: why do i have to login twice

I use Chrome and have never experienced that. Same with FF, on the rare occasions I've used it. I logged in with Chrome & FF just now, and both worked fine.


"The good news about computers is that they do what you tell them to do. The bad news is that they do what you tell them to do." - Ted Nelson

Offline

#35 2014-04-21 06:05:24

ShivamS
Member
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 3,555

Re: why do i have to login twice

I am experiencing it on Chrome.

Offline

#36 2014-04-21 06:17:50

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

How about on FF?


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#37 2014-04-21 06:18:32

ShivamS
Member
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 3,555

Re: why do i have to login twice

I don't use FF. I will try it.

Offline

#38 2014-04-21 06:22:38

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

Best browser on earth and 18 other planets too.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#39 2014-04-21 07:24:26

bob bundy
Moderator
Registered: 2010-06-20
Posts: 6,418

Re: why do i have to login twice

hi ShivamS

See screen shot for two questions about this.

Bob

View Image: login twice.gif

You cannot teach a man anything;  you can only help him find it within himself..........Galileo Galilei

Offline

#40 2014-04-21 11:44:22

phrontister
Real Member
From: The Land of Tomorrow
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 3,848

Re: why do i have to login twice

Hi Bob,

My login succeeds first pop for both options, in both Chrome and FF.

Last edited by phrontister (2014-04-21 11:46:30)


"The good news about computers is that they do what you tell them to do. The bad news is that they do what you tell them to do." - Ted Nelson

Offline

#41 2014-04-21 13:34:52

ShivamS
Member
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 3,555

Re: why do i have to login twice

Hi bob bundy;

I generally use the first method (1) of logging in since it is already there (I know, I am lazy - most people wouldn't complain about 2 seconds of waiting time). After logging in, it tells me that I have logged in successfully but it redirects to that same screen. I will try it with (2).

Offline

#42 2014-04-21 13:45:41

Agnishom
Real Member
From: The Complex Plane
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 17,124
Website

Re: why do i have to login twice

Please upvote my bug thread if you agree with it.


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
'You made a human being happy! There is no further achievement.' -bobbym

Offline

#43 2014-04-21 13:48:29

ShivamS
Member
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 3,555

Re: why do i have to login twice

We don't have upvotes here (I think it would be a good feature to have - at least some reputation, points, like/helpful etc system).

Last edited by ShivamS (2014-04-21 13:49:02)

Offline

#44 2014-04-21 13:56:44

Agnishom
Real Member
From: The Complex Plane
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 17,124
Website

Re: why do i have to login twice

bobbym wrote:

Best browser on earth and 18 other planets too.

Name them.


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
'You made a human being happy! There is no further achievement.' -bobbym

Offline

#45 2014-04-21 16:29:30

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

I do not know the names.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#46 2014-04-21 21:03:26

Agnishom
Real Member
From: The Complex Plane
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 17,124
Website

Re: why do i have to login twice

Pictures?


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
'You made a human being happy! There is no further achievement.' -bobbym

Offline

#47 2014-04-21 21:18:06

bobbym
Administrator
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 87,164

Re: why do i have to login twice

Maybe some other time...


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
Of course that result can be rigorously obtained, but who cares?
Combinatorics is Algebra and Algebra is Combinatorics.

Offline

#48 2014-05-16 15:06:38

Agnishom
Real Member
From: The Complex Plane
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 17,124
Website

Re: why do i have to login twice

gAr wrote:

Checked using wireshark. The "live HTTP headers" FF addon can also be used to test that.

A part of the POST information looks like this:
form_sent=1&redirect_url=index.php&req_username=<myid>&req_password=<mypasswd>&login=Login

I've got wireshark. How do I get that line?


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
'You made a human being happy! There is no further achievement.' -bobbym

Offline

#49 2014-05-20 04:42:08

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,479

Re: why do i have to login twice

After selecting the capture interface, login.
Then stop capturing packets.
Look for the packet related to HTTP, for the login name and passwd.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#50 2014-05-20 07:36:15

ShivamS
Member
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 3,555

Re: why do i have to login twice

This still happens after the upgrade.

Last edited by ShivamS (2014-05-20 07:36:23)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB