Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-02-19 04:30:10

dchilow

A couple more Real Analysis questions

Hi guys, thanks you were a huge help last week. I have a couple more homework questions that are troubling:

ma446002vr1.png

Some of these may seem very simple to you guys, but I am just getting started in this, and it is very difficult for me.

Thanks

#2 2008-02-19 07:18:43

mathsyperson

Re: A couple more Real Analysis questions

I'm going to look at 2 because it's the most interesting.

It's trickier than it looks, due to the fact that you aren't told whether a and b are rational. (If they were, you could take x = (a+b)/2, then consider the new interval (a,x) and repeat to get infinite rationals in the interval.)

I can think of a way to do it, but only because I've seen a problem on here before that helped you prove it. It went something like this:

i) Prove that for any real a and b (with a<b), there exists a natural number n such that 1/n < b-a.

ii) Now prove that there exists a natural number k such that a < k/n < b.

If you do those, you've done the first part of your question.
The irrational bit is easier, because you can use the result from the rational bit.

Consider the interval (a+π, b+π). You just proved that there are infinite rationals in that interval, and if a rational x is in that interval, then an irrational x-π will be in (a,b). Hence, (a,b) contains infinite rationals.

If you were being particularly observant, you may have noticed that the question I gave you assumed that a<b. This is a necessary assumption, and your question is being naughty for not stating it. If a ≥ b, then (a,b) is the empty set and so obviously doesn't contain infinite rationals or irrationals (because it doesn't contain anything).

---

1. and 3. aren't too bad.

1. is a fairly simple proof by induction.