Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-25 13:58:15

LuisRodg
Real Member

Becoming a Mathematician...

Hello guys, I just have a question that kind of bothers me and I want to know what you guys think about it and what do you have to tell me?

Heres the issue: I am currently a freshman in some university in Miami. I am also a math major. I am currently taking Calculus I and I have the highest grade on the class and truly love the subject. Math has always been my favorite subject in High School which was the reason for which I decided to be a math major. As of right now Im really happy with my decision but the only thing that bothers me is the fact that im always being told of how hard it is to be a math major and how i am going to drop out...This is said to me in person as well as other message boards.

Most of the time the comments come like "You might be good at Calculus and like math but when you hit Real Analysis then your going to really hate math and your going to drop it. Upper level math is not the same, its not even similar".

You get the point...Now, is this true? Its like, I dont feel I could do any other major, it feels that math is the only one which Im gonna be able to do because its the only subject I love and I would truly hate studying something which I dont like deep inside.

Basically, I feel that a math major is the only thing I could in my life and then some people tell me that its practically impossible to do and im gonna have to drop it. Somehow that angers me...What is input in this issue?

#2 2007-10-25 16:27:41

bossk171

Re: Becoming a Mathematician...

People will always tell you you're wrong. Sometimes they're right, sometimes there not.