Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-09 06:34:59

Shifty707

I need help with weighted averages

Hi all.

I'm wondering if someone could help.  I'm not very good with weighted averages nor could I figure out what weight I'm using.  Can someone help me understand weighted averages more and help me solve weighted averages for the two images below?

ndmzy0.jpg

15xsmrq.jpg

Very much appreciated.  Thank you.

Last edited by Shifty707 (2014-01-09 06:37:20)

#2 2014-01-09 08:25:31

SteveB

Re: I need help with weighted averages

I think you have to take each pair of Score and Sample size and multiply them, and then add these together to get a total,
then divide by the total sample size for all of the rows you have added:

eg. (3.83 x 521) + ..... + ...... I have just given the first row of the scores x sample sizes (I won't add all of them because there are a lot - and also that is your job)....
Then add 521 + 806 + ..... and get the sample size total

Remember to treat each year separately of course for both totals in each case.
(Similar principle for the top table except that they are not years, and similar I think for the percentages,
just treat them like scores - multiply them by the sample sizes in each row - then sum them - then divide by the total sample size.
I notice that the total sample sizes are there already and that the averages are already given.)

Last edited by SteveB (2014-01-09 08:34:14)

#3 2014-01-09 10:37:51

Shifty707

SteveB wrote:

I think you have to take each pair of Score and Sample size and multiply them, and then add these together to get a total,
then divide by the total sample size for all of the rows you have added:

eg. (3.83 x 521) + ..... + ...... I have just given the first row of the scores x sample sizes (I won't add all of them because there are a lot - and also that is your job)....