Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-13 10:15:06

bobbym
bumpkin

Rant for the day: Trend or random?

I am unhappy with how little mathematics I've learned since I entered college, relative to before when I was self taught

I have heard this three times in the past week. I suspect it may be more prevalent than we are being told or are willing to admit.

In my opinion these are the reasons that some students are saying this or something like it.

1) When you are studying something on your own, you are strongly motivated, as opposed to being somewhere you don't want to be. So, your results are much better.

2) The teachers (no one in here of course) are not what they used to be.  I hear now on 3 forums how some teacher behaved irrationally. Years of being bullied in classrooms by students and low pay have chased many off their chosen profession.

3) Poor curriculums that do not reflect modern mathematical trends or even refusing to acknowledge those trends has left students woefully unprepared for working in industry. Example, after 20 years, half the schools here cannot decide on the calculator issue.

4) General loss of pride in any form of work, where money has become the only reason to even go to work, has drained the whole society in general.

While computational technologies are transforming the professional practice of mathematics, as yet they have had little impact on school mathematics.

5) With Andy Wiles and Sir Michael Atiyah being the most outspoken detractors it is a small wonder why the above quote is true.

What do you think?

In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

#2 2009-12-13 12:10:13

MathsIsFun
Administrator

Re: Rant for the day: Trend or random?

Good rant.