Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-08-23 12:20:03

Chewy

Natural logarithm, "e"

Hi all,

I have searched the forum and have been having a hard time finding something in regard to what "e" represents. I followed a link from here to the Mathisfun.com site (http://www.mathsisfun.com/numbers/e-eulers-number.html), and I feel that I understand how to obtain e as a number. A very good explanation. One shortcoming on my part, is I still do not understand what exactly its purpose is.

I have read that it is a constant, and at P(0,1) on an XY graph, the slope is equal to y at that point exactly. All functions of x that are negative result in an extremely low Y coordinate, until reaching positive values of x, where a change in Y dramatically increases positive. I am just not understanding what (1,e) represents on that same graph.

I am studying calculus materials in my spare time, and have read of this important number, and want to understand it better. Any help would be very much appreciated!

#2 2008-08-23 13:38:57

John E. Franklin

Re: Natural logarithm, "e"

Here's a musical ditty on e.
http://members.aol.com/lizanya/sugar.html
The background is a pretty design like fractals.
e is also called Napier's constant.
hyperbolic cosine and sin are related?
Regular sine and cosine waves have been
demonstrated using i, e, and pi; this is
very weird stuff but was shown to me
in electrical engineering class.
I heard e shows up in snail's spiral, maybe?

igloo myrtilles fourmis

#3 2008-08-23 23:23:08

mathsyperson

e has quite a few uses. In calculus terms, the reason it's so important is that f(x) = e^x is the only function whose derivative is equal to itself.

Therefore, g(x) = e^(kx), where k is some constant, is the function whose derivative is proportional to itself and so this is useful in modelling patterns of growth.